Apr 08 2008

Nation’s Largest Taxpayers Group Honors Graham

WASHINGTON – The 362,000-member National Taxpayers Union (NTU) today announced that U.S. Senator Lindsey Graham (R-South Carolina) is one of the few dozen lawmakers in the Senate and House of Representatives to win the 2007 ‘Taxpayers’ Friend Award.’


“While many Members of Congress talked about reducing the size of government last year, Lindsey Graham backed up those words with votes,” said NTU President Duane Parde.  “This award proves that Graham is a staunch ally we can count on in our battle to restore fiscal responsibility to Washington .”


The award was presented to Senators who achieved an ‘A’ grade in NTU’s annual Rating of Congress.  The Rating, which is based on every roll call vote affecting fiscal policy, assigns a ‘Taxpayer Score’ to each Senator that indicates their support for reducing or controlling federal spending, taxes, debt, and regulation.  For 2007, 182 Senate votes were selected.


“By consistently voting to reduce federal spending, taxes, and the debt, Lindsey Graham has led by example in the fight to ease the burden on taxpayers everywhere,” said Parde.  “This is an achievement for which he should be proud.”


From 2006 to 2007, the average pro-taxpayer score in the Senate fell 11 points to 37 percent. 

“If every Member of Congress had voted as responsibly as Lindsey Graham did in 2007, Americans could have enjoyed much lower taxes and less waste in government,” Parde concluded.  “Overburdened taxpayers in South Carolina and across the nation owe Lindsey Graham a debt of gratitude for his work on their behalf.  He has truly earned the title ‘Taxpayers’ Friend.’”


NTU is a nonpartisan, nonprofit citizen group founded in 1969 to work for lower taxes, smaller government, and economic freedom at all levels.