Jan 06 2012

Congressional Delegation Visits Africa

WASHINGTON - U.S. Senators Lindsey Graham (R-South Carolina), John Thune (R-South Dakota), John Barrasso (R-Wyoming), Mike Johanns (R-Nebraska), Kay Hagan (D-North Carolina), Richard Burr (R-North Carolina), and Representative Kay Granger (R-Texas) will travel to Africa from January 5-13.

The delegation will conduct oversight of Department of Defense, Department of State, and USAID activities in Africa. The congressional delegation trip seeks to understand the impact of U.S. sponsored counter-terrorism programs and projects relating to health, economic development, and strengthened trade relationships with African nations.