Jun 13 2024

Graham, Paul, Senators to AG Garland: We Condemn Evisceration of the American Judicial Process, Conviction of President Trump

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Lindsey Graham (R-South Carolina), Rand Paul (R-Kentucky) and 27 of their Senate Republican colleagues sent a letter to U.S. Attorney General Merrick Garland condemning the evisceration of the American judicial process and the conviction of former President Donald Trump in Manhattan, New York.

The Senators wrote, “The conviction of President Trump in Manhattan is nothing short of the evisceration of the American judicial process. In their zeal to imprison Donald Trump, Democrat prosecutors successfully dissolved the constitutional protections afforded to defendants and the barriers that protect every American from the abuses of arbitrary rule…Due process cannot exist when the defendant is accused of a secret crime. No American – not even a President – can defend himself fairly in a court of law if he is deprived of his Sixth Amendment right to know what crime he is alleged to have committed.”

They concluded, “We condemn this show trial, not just because it marks the attempt to imprison a leader of the loyal opposition, but because it threatens the existence of due process of law, without which a constitutional republic dedicated to the protection of individual liberty is not possible.”

Full text of the letter is HERE

In addition to Graham and Paul, the letter was signed by U.S. Senators Mike Lee (R-Utah), Tommy Tuberville (R-Alabama), Ron Johnson (R-Wisconsin), Rick Scott (R-Florida), Roger Marshall (R-Kansas), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Tim Scott (R-South Carolina), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tennessee), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Mississippi), Bill Hagerty (R-Tennessee), Kevin Cramer (R-North Dakota), Marco Rubio (R-Florida), James Lankford (R-Oklahoma), Eric Schmitt (R-Missouri), JD Vance (R-Ohio), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyoming), Ted Budd (R-North Carolina), John Thune (R-South Dakota), Thom Tillis (R-North Carolina), Markwayne Mullin (R-Oklahoma), Katie Britt (R-Alabama), Mike Braun (R-Indiana), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), John Hoeven (R-North Dakota), Deb Fischer (R-Nebraska), and Josh Hawley (R-Missouri).