Mar 14 2024

Graham, Britt Introduce Laken Riley Act

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Lindsey Graham (R-South Carolina) and Katie Britt (R-Alabama) introduced the Laken Riley Act. Companion legislation passed the House last week in a bipartisan vote of 251-170.

Laken Riley’s alleged murderer entered the country illegally. He was arrested for committing another crime, but subsequently released. Currently President Biden has the authority to require U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) to detain illegal aliens who commit theft, burglary, larceny, or shoplifting offenses. To date, Biden has been largely unwilling to exercise that authority.

The Laken Riley Act would close this loophole in the law, requiring ICE to arrest and detain illegal aliens who commit these crimes and mandate that these aliens are detained until they are removed from the United States so they cannot re-offend and commit further crimes. Additionally, this legislation would ensure that states have standing to bring civil actions against federal officials who refuse to enforce immigration law or who violate the law.

“I greatly appreciate Senator Britt’s leadership on this issue. It is imperative we change our immigration policies now, and end catch and release,” said Graham. “Laken Riley’s murder is likely a result of the Biden Administration’s open border policy. The Biden Administration is waiving people in. And even if one of those people commits a crime and is detained by law enforcement, the Biden Administration’s policy is to let them out. That must end now. The Laken Riley Act is an absolute necessity. Senator Schumer should bring this bill to the floor immediately.”

U.S. Senators Mitch McConnell (R-Kentucky), Ted Budd (R-North Carolina), John Barrasso (R-Wyoming), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tennessee), John Boozman (R-Arkansas), Mike Braun (R-Indiana), Shelley Moore Capito (R-West Virginia), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Tom Cotton (R-Arkansas), Kevin Cramer (R-North Dakota), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Steve Daines (R-Montana), Deb Fischer (R-Nebraska), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Bill Hagerty (R-Tennessee), Josh Hawley (R-Missouri), John Hoeven (R-North Dakota), John Kennedy (R-Louisiana), James Lankford (R-Oklahoma), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyoming), Jerry Moran (R-Kansas), Pete Ricketts (R-Nebraska), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Mike Rounds (R-South Dakota), Eric Schmitt (R-Missouri), Rick Scott (R-Florida), Tim Scott (R-South Carolina), Thom Tillis (R-North Carolina), John Thune (R-South Dakota), Tommy Tuberville (R-Alabama), and Roger Wicker (R-Mississippi) are cosponsors of the legislation in the Senate.

This bill was originally introduced in the House of Representatives by Representative Mike Collins (Republican, GA-10).

The full text of the bill can be found HERE.