Mar 22 2007

Graham Announces Another $5 Million for Habitat Conservation

WASHINGTON – Over the past two months, two wildlife habitat conservation projects in South Carolina have received more than $13 million in federal grant money. 

In January, U.S. Senator Lindsey Graham (R-South Carolina) announced $8.6 million for the Woodbury Wildlife Management Area and Hamilton Ridge Wildlife Management Area.  Today, he announced these wildlife areas will receive another $5 million in federal grants.  The funds will be used by the state to help purchase the tracts of land.  Both protected areas will be placed in the SCDNR Wildlife Management Area program and will be open to the public for traditional outdoor recreational opportunities such as birding, nature walking, hunting, and fishing. 

“One of South Carolina’s greatest treasures is the natural beauty of our surroundings,” said Graham.  “We have a responsibility to help ensure our state’s natural resources are preserved for the benefit of future generations.  I’m very pleased to see a continued commitment to protecting both of these environmentally significant tracts of land.”

The Forest Legacy Project grants include:

  • $2.5 million to purchase the Woodbury Wildlife Management Area.  The Woodbury tract, covering 25,668 acres, will protect 27.5 miles of river frontage along the Great Pee Dee River and 11.5 miles of frontage along the Little Pee Dee River in Marion County.  Graham announced $4.45 million for this project earlier this year.
  • $2.5 million to purchase the Hamilton Ridge Wildlife Management Area along the Savannah River in Hampton County.  This tract of 13,281 acres is adjacent to 12,600 acres of South Carolina Department of Natural Resources (SCDNR)-owned Wildlife Management Areas known as Webb and Palachucola.  Protection of Hamilton Ridge will double the protected acreage in this block and add another 8.5 miles to the existing 5 miles of state-protected frontage on the Savannah River.  Graham announced $4.15 million for this project earlier this year.

The grants announced today were awarded by the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Forest Service.